JINSA Bestows Distinguished Service Award Upon Senator Jon Kyl

2010 Recipients of “Grateful Nation Award” Presented the Same Evening

November 18, 2010

2010 Recipients of “Grateful Nation Award” Presented the Same Evening

November 18, 2010

JINSA’s 28th annual Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson Distinguished Service Award was conferred upon Senator Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.) on November 15, 2010. Mr. Dennis Carroll of the Raytheon Company, the evening’s major corporate sponsor, presented the award to Senator Kyl.

Through the Jackson Award, JINSA recognizes and thanks those leaders whose careers have been distinguished by the principle that is the foundation of JINSA’s work; the belief that the United States requires a strong military capability for both its own security and for that of trustworthy friends and allies.

In remarks after receiving the Henry M. Jackson Distinguished Service Award, Senator Kyl reiterated the necessity of the United States adhering to President Bush’s 2002 call for a Palestinian leadership untainted by terror and declared that the U.S.-Israel relationship greatly benefits America.

Following a presentation of the colors by the Color Guard of the Military District of Washington and a vocal performance of the National Anthem by the multi award winning country group Ricochet, evening master of ceremonies Ms. Catherine Herridge, national correspondent for FOX News, opened the dinner.

View a photo gallery from the evening.

After the presentation of a video tribute to JINSA’s late National Chairman Mark Broxmeyer and comments from his close friend and JINSA Vice President Larry Siedlick, JINSA President David Ganz welcomed the crowd of more than 700 that filled the Atrium of the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center to capacity. The audience included large contingents from the Pentagon, Capitol Hill, the Administration and the diplomatic community as well as JINSA’s national Board of Directors and members.

The Grateful Nation Awards presentations began with a short address from Dr. Stephen D. Bryen, President of Finmeccanica North America, co-sponsor with JINSA of the Grateful Nation Awards. Dr. Bryen noted that the Grateful Nation Award recipients were each nominated by their commanding officers and chosen by the senior leadership of their respective services for their exceptional service in the War on Terror.

Introduced eight years ago, JINSA’s Grateful Nation Award was created to recognize the courage and dedication of enlisted, noncommissioned officers and junior officers fighting on the front lines of freedom. As an organization representing 20,000 members all over our country, JINSA was determined to do something tangible to express the organization’s profound appreciation to the men and women of our armed services.

Dr. Bryen concluded his remarks by calling General James E. Cartwright, USMC, Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, to the stage to assist him and Mr. Ganz in congratulating each of the six recipients.

The 2010 Grateful Nation recipients are:

Staff Sergeant Christopher Waiters, USA
Corporal Daniel Hickey, USMC
Chief Petty Officer (SEAL) Adam L. Brown, USN (Posthumous)
Petty Officer Second Class Brandon Ramos, USCG
Staff Sergeant Christopher N. Freeman, USAF
Petty Officer (SEAL – representing USSOCOM)

The Grateful Nation Awards would not be possible without the dedication of the Award Liaison Committee comprised of retired officers serving on JINSA’s Board of Advisors. They are: Adm. Leon Edney, Lt. Gen. Earl Hailston, USMC (ret.); USN (ret.); Lt. Gen. Charles May, USAF (ret.); Lt. Gen. Fred McCorkle, USMC (ret.); R. Adm. Norman Saunders, USCG (ret.); Maj. Gen. Sidney Shachnow, USA (ret.); Mrs. Lawrence Skibbie; Gen. Louis C. Wagner, USA (ret.).

After a rousing medley of “America the Beautiful” and “God Bless America” performed by Ricochet to open the second half of the evening, JINSA Vice Chairman Morris J. Amitay introduced Sen. Joseph Lieberman and called him to the stage.

Sen. Lieberman told the audience of long friendship and congressional partnership with the evening’s Henry M. Jackson Distinguished Service Award recipient, Sen. Jon Kyl. Sen. Lieberman concluded by calling Mr. Dennis Carroll of Raytheon Company to the stage to present the award to Sen. Kyl.

After Senator Kyl’s remarks, JINSA Executive Director Tom Neumann thanked the senator and closed the evening.

View a photo gallery from the evening.