Click Here

JINSA’s 2019 Annual Awards Dinner
Wednesday, November 20


Conrad Washington DC Hotel
950 New York Ave., NW | Washington, DC 20001

Dinner Sponsors*

~As of November 5, 2019~

Diamond Sponsors ($50,000)

Leon and Elaine Ellman & Family
Catherine and David P. Steinmann

Platinum Sponsors ($25,000)

Colleen A. Edwards, M.D. and Joel M. Zinberg, M.D., J.D.

Gold Sponsors ($15,000)

Lockheed Martin Logo

Auramet Logo

Diana Davis Spencer

Silver Sponsors ($10,000)

Dr. Matthew and Susan Berger
David and Claire Ellman
Lawrence Gray, Judith Ganz and CPT Alexander Ganz, USA

Leena & Erwin Groner
Amelia and Joshua Katzen
Amy and Richard Kronrad & Family
Bryna and Joshua Landes & Family
Lisa and Michael Leffell
Michael A. Nachman
The Trump Group – Jules & Stephanie Trump
Steven Wells


Elbit Systems of America

General Dynamics Logo


And special thanks to…

Glenn Allen and Toni Andreas, Diana and Michael David Epstein, Kenneth Jackson, Paul Lane, Ed Levy, Jr., Alan Matus, Johnathan Robertson, Regina Rogers, Michael Shimoko, Mal and Stan Smiedt, Jeff Weiner, and Robert Zarnegin

Support JINSA’s 37th Annual Awards Dinner by joining the Dinner Sponsors above.
Click here for sponsorship opportunities and benefits
or contact Leo Nayfeld at (202) 667-3900 or

~ Dietary laws will be observed at the Annual Awards Dinner.~

JINSA’s 2019 Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson
Distinguished Service Award:

Senator Lindsey Graham

Senator Lindsay Graham

Senator Graham will be the first two-time recipient of the Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson Distinguished Service Award, having also received the award in 2012. A great friend of JINSA for many years, he is most deserving of recognition because of his commitment to a strong U.S. national security policy and a robust U.S.-Israel security relationship. He has been an outspoken advocate of JINSA’s work for many years, and he has championed JINSA’s initiative for a U.S.-Israel mutual defense pact in the Senate.

Senator Graham has earned a reputation as one of the strongest proponents of a robust national defense. A frequent visitor to American troops stationed overseas for on-the-ground assessments, Graham has consistently pushed for outcomes in the War on Terror which protect our long-term national security interests.

Before being elected to Congress, Graham compiled a distinguished record in the United States Air Force as he logged six-and-a-half years of service on active duty as an Air Force lawyer. Graham retired from the Air Force Reserves in June 2015 having served his country in uniform for 33 years. He retired at the rank of Colonel.

JINSA’s 2019 National Leadership Award:

Mr. Leon Ellman


Mr. Ellman is being honored for his strong commitment to advancing JINSA’s mission of promoting a strong U.S. national security and robust U.S.-Israel security relationship. Chairman of the JLE Group, Leon has been on the board of Beit Issie Shapiro, supported FIDF, sponsoring members of their military’s college educations, and supported Tikvot, a non profit which rehabilitates Israel’s victims of terror and wounded soldiers through sports. Leon is a widely respected business leader who has also supported many local programs and charities in the community.

2019 MG Sidney Shachnow Grateful Nation Award recipients

CW4 Christopher Moore

CW4 Christopher E. Moore, USA

Sgt. Ryan Keith

Sgt. Ryan A. Keith, USMC


LCDR Alexa F. Jenkins, USN


LTJG James R. Rizzo, USCG

TSgt O'Connor

TSgt. Michael C. O’Connor, USAF

Joel Prather

CW3 Joel C. Prather, USA (USSOCOM)

2018 JINSA Honorees:

The Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson
Distinguished Service Award


Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson Award recipient Secretary Michael Pompeo (center) pictured with Senator Tom Cotton (left) and JINSA President & CEO Michael Makovsky, PhD (right).

The MG Sidney Shachnow
Grateful Nation Award


2018 Grateful Nation Award recipients

The JINSA National
Leadership Award

Ldrship Award

JINSA National Leadership Award recipient Fred Zeidman (right) pictured with Senator Lindsey Graham (center) and JINSA President & CEO Michael Makovsky, PhD (left).

Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson Distinguished Service Award

In 1982, the Jewish Institute for National Security Affairs (JINSA) was proud to honor Senator Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson with the first “Distinguished Service Award.” After the Senator’s untimely death in 1983, JINSA, in cooperation with Mrs. Helen Jackson, renamed the award in the Senator’s memory.

Today this prestigious award enables JINSA to recognize and thank those leaders whose careers have been distinguished by the principle that is the foundation of JINSA’s work; the belief that the United States requires a strong military capability for both its own security and for that of trustworthy friends and allies. This was the cornerstone of the late Senator Jackson’s visionary policy and it guides JINSA today. Senator Jackson helped define our mandate and our programming is designed to further it.

Learn More and View Past Recipients

MG Sidney Shachnow Grateful Nation Award

The Grateful Nation Award, established in 2003, renamed the MG Sidney Shachnow Grateful Nation Award in 2019, is presented annually to six young heroes recognized for having distinguished themselves through superior conduct in the War on Terrorism. Honorees are nominated and selected by their respective service. The honorees come from the enlisted, noncommissioned officer and junior officer ranks. Honorees represent each of the five branches of the U.S. military and the U.S. Special Operations Command.

Learn More and View Past Recipients

JINSA National Leadership Award

JINSA’s National Leadership Award is given to an individual for their strong commitment to advancing JINSA’s mission of promoting a strong U.S. national security and robust U.S.-Israel security relationship.

Learn More and View Past Recipients